The George E. Brown, Jr. Award for S-E-T Leadership

The George E. Brown, Jr., Award honors the memory of a man widely known as the leading statesman and advocate for science, engineering and technology policy in the United States Congress. George Brown was a member of the House of Representatives from California for more than 35 years. During his tenure he rose to the Chairmanship of what is now the House Committee on Science, Space & Technology and was one of the nation’s most ardent supporters of federal research.

The principal criteria established for the recipient of the George E. Brown Award are:

  • Active leadership in the determination of Science, Engineering, Technology and STEM policy;
  • Strong public advocacy in support of a role for the federal government in research; and
  • Specific actions taken to advance Science, Engineering, Technology and STEM public policy.

George E. Brown Jr. Award Past Recipients

Sen. Lisa Murkowski and Rep. Jim Langevin Win 20th George E. Brown, Jr. Award for Science & Engineering Leadership

Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK)

U.S. Representative Jim Langevin (RI)

U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK) and U.S. Representative Jim Langevin (RI) will receive the 2018 George E. Brown, Jr. Award for Science & Engineering Leadership for their vision in promoting public policies that benefit science and engineering. Senator Murkowski and Representative Langevin will be honored at a Capitol Hill ceremony and public reception on Tuesday, May 8, 2018 to be held in the Rayburn House Office Building Banquet Rooms B 2043 – B 2045 between 5:00 – 7:00 p.m. The celebration is open to the general public and press.

About Sen. Lisa Murkowski:
Senator Lisa Murkowski is the first Alaskan-born Senator — and only the sixth United States Senator to serve the state. The state’s senior Senator, Lisa Murkowski is a third-generation Alaskan, born in Ketchikan and raised in towns across the state: Wrangell, Juneau, Fairbanks and Anchorage. Since joining the Senate in 2002, Senator Murkowski has been a strong advocate for Alaska on the important issues facing the state, including energy, health care, education, military/veterans’ affairs and infrastructure development. She is the Chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and also serves on the Senate Appropriations Committee, where she is the Chairman of the Interior and Environment Subcommittee. Senator Murkowski is a member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee – the first Alaskan to serve on that panel – and also is a senior member of the Senate Indian Affairs Committee.

About Rep. Jim Langevin:
Throughout his career, Congressman Jim Langevin (LAN’-jih-vin) has made Rhode Island’s priorities his own and fought to open the doors of government to its rightful owners – the people of this great nation. Recognized as a national and party leader on national security, health care and cybersecurity, Congressman Jim Langevin has dedicated his many years of public service at the federal and state levels to the hard-working citizens of Rhode Island. Langevin is a senior member of the House Armed Services Committee, where he is the Ranking Member of the Emerging Threats and Capabilities Subcommittee, and also serves on the Subcommittees on Seapower and Projection Forces and Tactical Air and Land Forces. As a supporter of the critical national security work done by Rhode Island’s defense industry, he has worked in committee to double production of the extraordinary Virginia Class Submarines built in Quonset, meeting military needs and creating hundreds of new jobs. Langevin recently returned to the House Committee on Homeland Security, where he serves as a member of the Subcommittees on Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Protection and Emergency Preparedness, Response and Communications.